Trendwatch: The Midi Pleated Skirt

12 Apr

It was waaaay back in September that the midi pleated skirt appeared on the catwalks of London, Paris, New York and Milan. My particular favourites were at Chloé, Richard Nicoll and Yohji Yamamoto (L-R).

Ever since I’ve wanted to blog about this structured yet flowing S/S ’11 wardrobe staple, but the weather just wasn’t quite right. With the sun shining and temperatures soaring over the last few days, we’ve all felt that much more confident getting our legs out. But if you, like me, aren’t a fan of the sudden jump from jeans and leggings to mini-skirts and hotpants, then the midi is just for you! It’s a transitional piece that covers up enough whilst being ever so Spring/Summer.

On the high street the IT skirt is Whistles’s Carrie. I even stumbled upon a Carrie-skirt-wearing-Whistles-staff-member at The Golden Ticket Event at Westfield.

I love the taupe… but it also comes in a beautiful neon pink colour. Completely out of stock it can now be found selling on Ebay for about £150! Due to the incredible demand, Whistles are re-stocking the pink as well as adding lemon yellow and highlighter blue versions *sigh*.

At £110 and incredibly hard to track down in my size… I bought the ASOS Premium Pleated Midi Skirt instead (£40). It comes in a beautiful rust (probably more sensible for longevity), but I went for the pale blue for a more Summer-y feel.

The catwalk photos above show how versatile this skirt can be: dress it down with a slogan t-shirt and sturdy boots, wear it to work with a basic polo neck and flats or with a sheer top and heels for dinner/cocktails. But when tweeting for Trendwatch Tuesday ideas… a lot of people said they weren’t sure how to wear the midi, so I put together these two looks for us non-models:

For daytime I teamed my skirt with ASOS’s Strap Detail Body, Topshop Scarf (S/S ’10), Tan Ballet Pumps (Dune S/S ’10) and Topshop’s nod to Mulberry’s Alexa bag (S/S ’10). I kept accessories to a minimum, just wearing my Gold Casio Mini Digital Watch.

For a night time look I went for a classic cardigan and pearls look (one of my favourites!). I teamed the beautiful pale blue midi with a black vest, cropped Illustrated People Lover cardigan (£10 reduced from £40 in the Topshop sale last weekend!), three-strand vintage pearl necklace (£3 from a charity shop) and faux pearl bracelets (made from pearl beads and elastic bought from Hobbycraft). Pulling the look together is my beautiful Mulberry Bayswater in Black Soft Spongy Leather (still can’t believe that it’s mine!) and Office T-Bar Wedges (Circa 2006).

I felt so lady-like in a longer length skirt, and the high waist is incredibly flattering. I can’t wait to see how the pleated midi skirt fares through Autumn-Winter too, and look forward to styling it with thick knit tights, a chunky cardigan and a skinny belt! If there’s one KEY piece for Spring/Summer ’11 this is it! So get down to Whistles… or start browsing vintage stores for the perfect midi pleated skirt. I can promise that you won’t regret getting on this bandwagon!

4 Responses to “Trendwatch: The Midi Pleated Skirt”

  1. Sara, Sweden August 31, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    Hello, Can you please show some more pictures of you bag? I absolutely love it!

    • LDN Shopaholic October 31, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

      Which one is it you like Sara? Let me know and I can tell you more 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Evening Standard Plugs Pleats « LDN Shopaholic - April 18, 2011

    […] ← The Whistles Carrie Skirt is MINE! Trendwatch Tuesday: The Midi Pleated Skirt […]

  2. Trendwatch: The Carrie’s Back! « LDN Shopaholic - July 26, 2011

    […] If you’re a regular reader of my blog you’ll know of my fondness for a certain pleated midi skirt. I’ve mentioned it a couple of times now… here and here! […]

Leave a Reply

