Freebie Friday – Chelsea Girl

5 May

How awesome was April? Fab weather, bank holidays and the Royal Wedding! Being the first Friday of May (how did that happen?!), it’s FREEBIE Friday!

And this month it’s all about River Island‘s Retro Chelsea Girl label.

I first spotted the label at Westfield’s Big Fashion Wardrobe and since then I stumbled upon their pop-up shop at Selfridges.

   

             

Chelsea Girl was the first fashion boutique chain (established on Kings Road in 1965), which eventually became River Island in the 80s. It’s popularity peaked in the 70s and the collection really fits in with this season’s return to Seventies style. The collection is being trialled this Summer, but if sales are good Chelsea Girl may well be here to stay… so get shopping fellow-lovers-of-previous-era’s!

I love the entire collection and think it definitely deserves a look, if not about twenty purchases!! My current favourites include:

Ever so retro Brown Print Dress (£25), Cream Print Skinny Jeans (£35), Patchwork Skirt (£65) and Beige Crop Chelsea Girl T-shirt (£15). And HOW CUTE is the Mini Rucksack (£30)?!

This month the lovely people at River Island have given me a Grey Chelsea Girl T-shirt (it’s a size 12, but would look fab a little oversized on a 6/8/10 too!) and a Chelsea Girl cloth bag to giveaway.

I think I’d customise it, probably turn it into a cropped tee and wear it with my beige high-waisted suede shorts and red platform heels!

There are several ways to enter: comment on this post telling me how you would style the t-shirt if you won it, follow me and retweet my Freebie Friday tweet on Twitter and/or subscribe to my blog! Each one counts as a separate entry 🙂

Good luck, the winner will be announced next Friday!

Have a lovely weekend and do let me know if you make a visit to the shops!

LDNShopaholic xxx



11 Responses to “Freebie Friday – Chelsea Girl”

  1. Dejeniera Pygott May 6, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    I’d wear it tucked into a paper bag waist khaki skirt and wedges. Finger’s crossed!

  2. Splodz May 7, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    I’d wear it as an oversized t with skinny jeans and pumps

  3. AMANDA LETCH May 8, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Love to win the t-shirt, i remember chelsea girl when i was about thirteen my best friend and i use to go there alot, it was my favorite shop !

    Showing my age lol

    I would style this t-shirt with mid wash chelsea girl denim jeggings and beige print chelsea girl large shopper bag

    Tweeted as @CHOCOAJ x

  4. Jessica Dearnley May 9, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    I would wear my cropped leather jacket, the Chelsea girl top, a pair of jeans and some nice red heels.

    Tweeted with @jessycalouise

  5. GabbiTavani May 9, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I would wear this tucked into high waisted vintage shorts with a bright coloured skinny belt, a fedora, some aviator sunglasses, flats and a flobby beach bag!
    XXXX

  6. getthriftycouk May 9, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    I would have to turn it into a festival vest! cap the sleeves and maybe add some diamantes and pearls teamed with grey/pale blue washed denim shorts, and no doubt WELLIES!

  7. natalie holland May 13, 2011 at 6:42 am #

    I’m a bit of a tom boy…I’d wear it cropped with baggy jeans & pumps 🙂

  8. Belinda Matthews May 13, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    I would wear it with leggings and knee high boots

    tweeted as @bettyboop0112

  9. Katie May 13, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Ooooh, such a cute collection! I would have to use this shirt as an excuse to buy the Chelsea girl denim skirt so I could tuck this shirt in, pairing it with some summer wedges and my ray bans!
    Have tweeted as wel! (@kazautomatic)

  10. LDN Shopaholic May 19, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    Great styling suggestions by everyone! Thanks for entering. I announced the winner last week and it was getthriftycouk! Congrats… the tee and bag should be with you very soon.

Leave a Reply

