Benefit – Love it or Hate it?

30 Jun

I’m really not too sure where to begin with Benefit!! I lusted after their products for years, but could never really afford them. Then a few years ago I decided to splash some of my birthday cash at the Benefit counter in my local Boots. I wasn’t too sure what I wanted (as in fact I just wanted EVERYTHING!). The lady sat me down, and she had the most amazing rainbow eyeshadow going on.

I thought about what I needed in my make up bag… a primer perhaps? So she sold me Dr. Feelgood… she said it was a great base for make up, filling in fine lines (I was 20 at the time!!!) and it would make my look last all day long. I fell for it and splashed out £21.50 (a lot for a poor student!). Then she asked what I would be using on top of it, I said my usual foundation… she suggested You Rebel Lite Tinted Moisturiser as it has SPF 15 in it, to protect my skin. I went along with it, they only had one shade and I felt wary that with my (although fair) Indian skin tone it wouldn’t match. She convinced me it did… so I bought that too (£23.50 – ouch!). Then I still had a few more squid to spend and I love a good bit of blusher… so I said I tended to use pink and fancied something a little different. So I was encouraged into purchasing Georgia, a peachy blusher (£23.50).

So bedazzled by the rainbow eyeshadow and bright lights of the counter, I had spent over £70! So excited, I took them home and tried them all out, only to find the Dr. Feelgood didn’t make me feel good at all, in fact, it didn’t do anything. In the light of day, the You Rebel was all wrong for my skin tone and made me look a ghastly shade of grey, and the peach was so light that with my skin tone, it worked more as a powder than a blusher.

I was shocked and distraught, all those years of me worshipping their beautiful packaging, loving their slogans, their quirky products and the personality of the brand, this is what they did?!?! Obviously I haven’t been back to the Benefit counter again.

I mean it’s never a good thing to have nearly full expensive make up still in your make up bag four years later:

Then when I was in the lovely Sephora in the US, I couldn’t help but spot a mini trio of Benetint, High Beam and Posietint. It was only $18 (£12), cheap as chips considering in the UK a normal Benetint is about £24, so I added it to my basket, feeling wary but at least I wasn’t getting ripped off this time. (I actually came home to find they were giving away the solo mini’s in this month’s Glamour Magazine!)

I was so pleased when the Benetint actually showed up on my face and did something worthy of spending money on! I love using it as a lip and cheek stain, particularly on a day to day basis. And I was even more pleased when I deduced that High Beam was the best highlighter I’d come across (particularly good on the cupid’s bow). Posietint on the other hand blended away on my skin tone, potentially even washing me out.

I don’t know if I’ve just been unlucky with Benefit, perhaps the sales lady had only just started working there at the time… or she didn’t know much about other skin tones, but with the price of their products, it’s not really a risk I want to take again. What do you all think of Benefit? Are there any products you’d highly recommend? I still love their brand identity and would like to be persuaded.

10 Responses to “Benefit – Love it or Hate it?”

  1. Jo M June 30, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Haha I reckon that i could take all of these wishy washy products for you off your hands!! After all I do have a wishy washy skintone and have fallen in love with Posietint since the Glamour giveaway.

    I love Benefit products but I am wary of their sales people. Either they are full on crazy sales people who lay on the pressure or they are really stupid. One I came across couldn’t find any other words to describe the products other than ‘pretty’. Was certainly a case of lights are on but nobody is home.

    What I tend to do as a result is to go in get them to do there thing and then tell them I have a voucher to buy the products online. This gives me the opportunity to go away and think about the products and if they really will work for me….plus you can always pop to another counter to check out that you aren’t being swizzled!

    Personally though, I love their eyeshadow shade ‘leggy’. Think that is probably my favourite, albeit somewhat boring, benefit product of all time!

    Jo xx

    • LDN Shopaholic June 30, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

      I was actually planning to give you my Posietint!! Perhaps the others too now I’ve dug them out! V. good idea to use the ‘I’ve got a voucher’ tactic. Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂

  2. sophie July 1, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    I say that the sales lady had just started working there!! Go to another Benefit store with another sales lady 😉 Benefit Cosmetics is so amazing! Give it another shot!! You will fall in love 🙂

    • LDN Shopaholic July 1, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      I think I might go back and give it another go. I do love the Benetint a lot. Any products in particular that you’d recommend?

  3. Tbaby July 2, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Well here is the problem with what she sold you-Dr. Feelgood is a great product for mattifying and also filling in lines, but-I find it works better on *gasp* men. (really-my partner is a huge fan of the stuff) Georgia has been discontinued because it was a full face powder that didn’t make a huge impact (looks great on some not on others) and Your rebel is good for a very select few (although to be honest I *hate* tinted moisturizer in the first place.

    The best benefit products are their creaseless cream shadows that stay on allll day. (I’m a teacher and up at 5 a. so I know this!) their POREfessional (which is a great base and really fills in pores and keeps you from being oily) and high brow (the create perfect arches) they have a lot of great products but yes; not all of them are meant for everyone and you should look around to see other brands that compliment. The stay dont stray is an amazing primer for eyes and concealer as well and the new skincare is amazing. Actually-the new mascara is probably the best I’ve ever tried for lengthening (I’ve used about every brand too; including drugstore-which is you do buy the Rimmel growth one is amazing) I’d say give it another shot-they also have a new tint which is ChaCha, a mango tint. At first I hated it (I’m super fair) but on second go mixed with bronzer it’s such a great summer glow. Hope this helps!

    • LDN Shopaholic July 2, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

      Wow thanks so much for the thorough response, I think I’ll be popping down to a counter in the near future and fully trying out their stuff. Their new mascara does sound fantastic from what I’ve seen on their Facebook page. x

      • Tbaby July 3, 2011 at 3:36 am #

        No problem! I’m a product junkie and I am especially a benebabe, so I’d hate for anyone to count out the line because of a bad experience (which can totally happen with counter people!) there are so many great lines out there-but it’s best to compliment them with each other than solely focusing on one. Benefit has a lot of great “faker” products; which are products that are not makeup but cover flaws (ex. POREfessional or my absolute fave the soon to be discontinued powderflage *cries*) but for true color you’d have to experience another brand (Urban makes great shadows with high impact as well as the new line at sephora called BUXOM) it’s about trial and error, and unfortunately yours didn’t work this time but I hope it does next time!

  4. sophie July 2, 2011 at 6:19 am #

    Yes!
    High Beam, Erase Paste, Girl meets Pearl, Hoola, That Gal, Take a picture – It lasts longer, Instant Brow Pencil, High Brow!

    Also, dr. feel good is great under some kind a-gorgeus!! 🙂

    Here you go. Some videos of the recommended products. The videos have helped me a lot!

  5. agirlastyle July 4, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Oh, so sorry to hear you had such an awful makeup counter experience! I, like you, discovered Benefit years ago (during an airport layover) but couldn’t afford it as a student at the time (and the horrific Australian markup – prices are almost double on it there). But I occasionally splashed out on it (and now that I can afford it, buy it often), and can honestly say they are some of my cult products. High Beam is one of my desert-island products (I use it every single day on my cheekbones, cupids bow, brow bone and under my under-eye concealer) to look glowy and awake when I’m inevitably sleep deprived. Also love Posie Tint and the darker tinter moisturiser and Bad Gal eyeliner. For your skin though, I can tell instantly that you need a darker tint, Benetint and perhaps Hoola rather than the peachy Georgia. The others (Posie Tint and the fair moisturiser) would just, like you say, wash you out. I know the products are now old, but since they’re still sold in exactly the same packaging, I’d go back to the counter (don’t say you bought them a while ago) and explain that you felt pressured into buying products that aren’t right for you, and would they consider exchanging them. A good company/sales assistant would do it every time. Good luck!

    Briony xx

    http://agirlastyle.com

    • LDN Shopaholic July 18, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      Thanks Briony, I will definitely head down to a counter and try and speak to someone. I am a huge lover of High Beam now so perhaps I will take the plunge again soon! x

Leave a Reply

