Trendwatch: Star Wars

5 Jul

I haven’t done a trendwatch post in ages as I’ve been really busy and unable to commit to regular posting. But it’s back today and the unlikely theme is… yes… Star Wars!

It all started with Graduate Fashion Week back in June. A few upcoming designers really stood out for me, firstly Middlesex University’s Sufiyeh Hadian. Her eyelash and jewel embellished Star Wars masks were paired with pieces from famous designers such as Giles Deacon and House of Holland.

 

I really like the way she put her looks together and even created a brand:

Nottingham Trent graduate Tania Ada also caught my eye with her futuristic metallic prints on menswear. Talking about her collection she said: “In short my collection is based on the Star Wars sequels. I’ve always been a bit of a sci-fi geek and I thought it would be a great foundation to base a collection on as it appeared to be a source of endless inspiration… Focusing on the first installment, A New Hope, I began my research analysing all characters finding the most interest in C-3PO and R2-D2 where I drew much of the inspiration for the colour palette and print ideas, as well as details from the space ships of Princess Leia and Darth Vadar.”

 

My sudden Star Wars fashion fascination came to a head when I saw Jessie J in her Stormtrooper outfit at Glastonbury. She teamed it with her cast and crutches and pulled it off beautifully:

The outfit was designed by Sara Bro-Jørgensen who graduated from The Royal College of Art last year. I think she’s definitely one to watch:

Illustrator Liam Brazier has also created some amazing Star Wars related prints:

and there’s also the ‘Trooper’ available.

Do you feel as inspired as I do? I think this unexpected and potentially controversial trend could be on it’s way into the mainstream!

2 Responses to “Trendwatch: Star Wars”

  1. www.blahblahbecky.co.uk July 6, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    I’m not really into sci-fi at all – except when it comes to fashion! Love the futuristic vibe that’s somehow so art deco and retro. Hearts.

    http://www.blahblahbecky.co.uk

    • LDN Shopaholic July 18, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

      I know, you can’t help but love it! Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

