Bourjois Beauties

28 Jul

So some of you might have seen my distress on Twitter this week as I left home for 10 days without ANY of my make up brushes AND I’ve got a wedding to go to – ERROR! This is a massive issue as I wear mineral make up thus need something to apply it with!!

Rather than splurging on more make up brushes and having two of everything, I decided to treat myself to a liquid foundation/concealer and went for Bourjois’ Healthy Mix Foundation with the Healthy Mix Concealer and picked up 16 make up sponges for £1 at Poundland to go with. I know it’s been out for a while now, but as a Bare Minerals lover, I just didn’t see the need to try it when I’d already found my perfect foundation! Now I had the perfect opportunity:

The foundation was fairly reasonable at £9.99 and the concealer was £7.99 (a little dear I thought), but I bought it in a 3 for 2 offer at Boots along with Bourjois Volume Ultra Curl Mascara (£7.99). You also get a free pair of sunglasses with the deal (not the best, but alright!).

The foundation promises: 70% more radiance and flawless complexion for up to 16 hours, along with using natural ingredients to provide:

  • Apricot > radiance
  • Melon > hydration
  • Apple > antioxidant
  • Ginger > energy

Having naturally dry skin which never seems to look radiant/energised/glowy, these claims really drove me to try it! It was light and felt fresh on my face, like a moisturiser, but had really good coverage for its consistency – I’d say medium. I actually bought it one shade darker than my skin tone as I’m planning to fake tan, but it blended in seamlessly giving me a healthy looking glow.

It really evened out my skin tone, definitely boosted radiance and covered small blemishes, leaving my skin looking naturally flawless (even on an 18 megapixel camera!):

The foundation felt great on and my skin felt was dewy for a good few hours after (it promises ‘8 hour moisture’). I’m not sure about the 16 hour coverage promise though – I’d say more like 8 hours (good enough for me!).

The plastic bottle is nothing special and does get mucky fast, but it does the job and is compact/light to carry around – good for travelling. I also like that it has a pump so you can choose just the right amount of product to use.

The corrective concealer, which I bought in the darkest shade (53), was considerably lighter than my shade of foundation (56):

But it blended in beautifully under my eyes and over any blemishes. It is thicker and less ‘breathable’ than the foundation, but still feels nice on and definitely doesn’t cake like some other concealers I’ve tried. I also love that’s in a tube rather than a pot (I’m little germaphobic!). A little goes a long with this product, so I now think £7.99 is quite a good price really!

All in all I’m very happy with my purchases and would recommend these, particularly if you’re looking for a medium coverage moisturising foundation. Both products are incredibly easy/quick to apply (you could simply use your fingers) so are perfect for a quick application in the morning before work – it lasts for 8 hours after all! Or just for a day when you can’t be bothered to put your full face of make up on.

I think my next Bourjois product is going to be the Chocolate Bronzer which I’ve heard so much about. I’ve been a massive fan of their Little Round Pot Blusher for years now, so they’re fast becoming my favourite pharmacy make up brand.

What’s your foundation of choice? I’ve heard so much about Chanel Vitalumiere I think that’s going to have to be the next one I try!

LDNshopaholic xxx

Leave a Reply

