Fab Fashion Finder

1 Aug

I’ve only gone and stumbled upon a seriously amazing website…

It happened quite accidentally whilst browsing my online shop of choice: ASOS, which is generally a daily occurence.

However, where the ‘Beauty’ tab used to be, there’s a new ‘Outfits and Looks’ tab. Where did this come from? How did I not notice?! Why on earth did they not inform me of these changes?! – I like t0 consider myself an ASOS VIP/fashion slave, seeing as I’ve been making monthly purchases from them since at least 2006.

Anywho, I was intrigued and clicked on the tab on to discover the ASOS Fashion Finder site. Essentially this is an ASOS social network for fashionistas/shopaholics like you and me!

I could go out on a limb here and suggest this may revolutionise our shopping experience, sway us into buying more (and more often), as well as keeping us totally up to date on what’s new.

Okay now I’ll stop going on about it and give you a peek (or you can click here and have a browse of it yourself):

You don’t have to sign up, as the site is viewable by anyone, but it’s more interactive if you do. In the top right corner there’s an option to sign in/sign up. Just put in a few details (name, username, e-mail address, password) and you’re ready to go!

So I’ll give you quick description of the tabs:

Trends: This features details on current/upcoming trends with pictures from the catwalk as well as outfit suggestions and look posts (further desciption of these below).

Outfits – These are outfit suggestions put together by site members which are a bit like mood boards. They can include anything from images of celebrities and arty images to quirky backgrounds and items from the ASOS site. Browse via the dropdown to see suggestions by Trend e.g. Americana/Seventies or function -Tea Party/Dinner date, Designer Inspiration – Chanel or Celebrities – Sarah Jessica Parker. I could literally be here for HOURS looking at everything!

Looks – This tab is much more geared at the community. Here you can upload pictures of your outfits and have them voted for. The more votes, the more popular and more likely to be seen by others. I think the concept is great for styling inspiration.You can also browse the Looks section by trend, celebrity or event (e.g. Fashion Week) but I love to see how real people respond to trends and style themselves.

SHOP: This pretty much takes you to the main ASOS site.

COMPETITIONS: These competitions encourage you to interact online by creating outfits or posting a look. Prizes include £300 to spend on ASOS as well as feature in their magazine. There’s an average of about 7000 entries in past competitions!

MEMBERS: Here you can browse the member list, see who’s new, popular this week, or in the Hall of Fame. Over time members get badges such as ‘Style Icon’ or ‘Fashion Hero’ while everyone starts off being a ‘Style Rookie’.

I’m still getting to grips with it but I’m loving it so far! You can check out my profile here. I know this will only feed my habit but you have to admit, recieving a large parcel of ASOS goodies makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

LDNshopaholic xxx

4 Responses to “Fab Fashion Finder”

  1. Super Gorgeous Blog August 1, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    Wow – what a great spot! Thanks for sharing – I think it will come in very useful, and I love the Polyvore-style ‘Looks’ boxes. Another thing I noticed when I was just browsing, is that if you click on an item in the store, as well as giving you all the info there’s an option to see all the ‘looks’ that feature that item. Sure fire way of ASOS making you spend more money, but I like the idea lots and lots! x

    • LDN Shopaholic August 2, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      Glad you liked it. It is such a good concept. Great for my wardrobe but bad for my bank account! 🙂 xx

      • Madison August 11, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

        I might have to sign up to this as well – although I don’t really understand it 🙂 Great find though x

      • LDN Shopaholic August 12, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

        It does take a bit of getting used to, but really good for style inspiration x

Leave a Reply

