Trendwatch: Arm Party

2 Aug

So you may have noticed a new little icon on my side bar: ‘Bloggers Do It Better‘. In the words of its creator: ‘It’s a movement. An initiative to showcase real girls, with real style, wearing real trends.

Every month bloggers are challenged to wear a trend and this month it’s the ‘Arm Party’. Here watches/bracelets/bangles/cuffs are worn simultaneously and get to have a rather good time together. Then all the bloggers posts are linked up on the BDIB page and we get to see how real people wear the latest trends – cool idea right?!

My favourite arm party is ‘The Stacker’. This generally consists of piling up every bangle I own (I don’t want anyone to feel left out!).

First in lovely metallics, which go with everything:

All of the above – H&M

Styled for a night out:

Dress – Primark (£5)

Shoes – Topshop (£75)

Belt – Primark (£2)

And then it’s time for its quirky relative, the coloured plastic bangle. I personally love putting them all on one arm:

Neon and Metal Bangles – H&M

Chunky Blue Bangles – Miss Selfridge

Silver Ring – H&M

Black Ring – Primark

Gold Detail Ring – Primark (£2)

Or if that’s a bit too much, separate them on to both wrists:

Suede Shorts – Topshop

Colour Block T-shirt – Primark (£8)

Gold Leaf Ring – Topshop

I love the Arm Party as it’s a way of standing out and being on trend without having to splurge. Just pull out whatever you have in your jewellery box and you’re set! (All of my bangles are from 2007)

How do you wear yours?

LDNshopaholic xxx

17 Responses to “Trendwatch: Arm Party”

  1. Emily August 3, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Think I prefer them across two arms but they look great! You’re right – it’s so easy to do – just pull them from your jewellery box – everyone has some bangles lying around!! 🙂

    • LDN Shopaholic August 3, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

      Yeah it’s a real statement wearing them all on one arm. I used to do it a few years ago and people used to make fun of me when I was on a night out – but now it’s cool! x

  2. boluxe August 3, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Wow, Love the large black ring!! This has been a fun challenge 🙂

    robyn of boluxe.wordpress.com

    • LDN Shopaholic August 3, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      It is awesome, such a good idea and I’m so glad I’ve got involved. It’s so fun seeing people style trends in their own way. Black ring was a real bargain at £2! x

    • LDN Shopaholic August 3, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      Thanks! It was a real bargain at £2! I love BDIB, so much fun seeing how people style different trends 🙂 it’s such a good idea! xx

  3. Joey August 3, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    Your arm party looks like so much fun! All the vibrant colours are great!
    Isn’t this BDIB assignment so much fun? I took part in it, too and am busy going through all the amazing looks!

    • LDN Shopaholic August 3, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

      Thanks it was fun! Nice to dig out the bracelets after a few years too 🙂 I love discovering new blogs through BDIB! xx

  4. Aquí August 3, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    Love your bright arm party! Hello color blocking! Great job with this challenge!

    • LDN Shopaholic August 3, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 I finally got with the colour blocking trend and am loving it!!! xx

  5. stillblondeafteralltheseyears August 5, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Haven’t see a neon arm party! It’s so cool!

    I have an invite for you! How about joining me for the Fall Fashionista Giveaway event (Oct. 14-19)? It’s ALL Fashion and ONLY Fashion. I have 70+ bloggers on board already and we have a huge Triberr group! WIll you join me?
    http://stillblondeafteralltheseyears.com/2011/07/announcing-2011-fall-fashionista-giveaway-event-signup-today/

  6. Grace August 9, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    I’m obsessed with your neon bangles!

    xx Grace
    Dream-Boating

    • LDN Shopaholic August 12, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      They are rather amazing! It was love at first sight 🙂

  7. Christina August 11, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    your hair looks incredible!
    Cx

    • LDN Shopaholic August 12, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      Thanks! I used to fight it but now I try to embrace its natural volume 🙂 x

  8. Anna @ South Molton St Style August 16, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Cute bangles, you look lovely as always xxx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Flamingo Fever « LDN shopaholic - August 22, 2011

    […] And my neon arm party: […]

Leave a Reply

