What a birthday!

17 Jan

So as I mentioned it was my birthday last weekend! I made a real event of it and began with a trip to the Cremerie Creperie in South Kensington along with the boyfriend. It was full of French people, which we thought was a great sign. I had the tuna and sweetcorn crepe. It. was. YUMMY!

Then we headed over to the Victoria and Albert Museum to check out the Postmodernism exhibition which I’ve been wanting to visit since it opened back in September.

Grey Angora Sweater Dress – Topshop

Black Lace Dress (under sweater) – Motel

Brown Coat – Topshop

Teal Faux Fur Snood – Topshop

Grey Leather Bag – All Saints

Black tights and knee high socks – Primark

Black Ankle Boots – Office

I enjoyed the exhibition and found it really interesting, however I wasn’t sure what to feel when I left it. Just quite overwhelmed, it definitely left a lasting impression though! My favourite part was the postmodern tea sets which I found quite fascinating!

We stopped to watch a bit of ice skating at the Natural History Museum, which was a rather beautiful sight! The boyfriend took me skating here for my birthday last year after dark and I’d definitely recommend it.

Then we headed to The Wolseley for afternoon tea (P.O.S.H.) and it was rather scrumptious. We got a selection of  sandwiches, cakes and scones which we actually couldn’t finish! The Wolseley blend was amazing and up there along with my favourite tea in the whole world (Twinings Assam if you must know!).

Later we met with a few friends for dinner and I was given two amazing cakes from The Hummingbird Bakery, red velvet and their standard cupcake. These were literally the best cakes I’ve EVER eaten (and I’ve eaten quite a lot in my time!). I also got given 7 new varnishes, which will no doubt be featuring in upcoming NOTW posts!

My aunt got me the perfect birthday card:

I had a lovely day and felt rather spoiled at the end of it, I feel so lucky to have such amazing friends and family!

A big thanks to everyone who entered my MAC birthday giveaway, the winner will be announced on Thursday.

LDNshopaholic xxx

p.s. you might have learned from this post that I love tea and cake A LOT!

5 Responses to “What a birthday!”

  1. life/style/flash. January 17, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    That sounds like a lovely, lovely birthday!

    I adore Assam tea too 🙂

    life/style/flash.

  2. Elle Croft January 17, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Sounds like an incredible day, featuring some delicious food! Glad you managed to celebrate with such fun, and you look fabulous too! x

  3. Safira January 17, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    Happy birthday! Looks like you had a lovely day, and those cakes look yum!

  4. champacanchandana January 18, 2012 at 6:36 am #

    Happy Belated Birthday!! The afternoon tea selection looked totally “scrumpdelicitious!!” =)

    Cute card too

  5. Ria January 18, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    You seem to have had an amazing time! Cake and tea rules, and so do museums!
    x

Leave a Reply

